Skip to main content






Child (under 18 years)


$7 transaction fee / order


Thursday 13 June 2024

7:30pm at Hamer Hall

Saturday 15 June 2024

2:00pm at Hamer Hall


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Anja Bihlmaier conductor
Alexander Melnikov piano


R. Schumann Manfred: Overture
R. Schumann Piano Concerto
Tchaikovsky Symphony No.6 Pathetique

About this performance

Join the MSO and conductor Anja Bihlmaier in exploring the musical introspection of two of classical music’s most profoundly talented and intensely emotional composers.

  • Lord Byron’s poem Manfred follows a man tortured by guilt, who summons supernatural beings before dying from madness. The story presents devastating parallels to Schumann’s own mental health decline, and this Overture – written to accompany the poem – captures its emotional intensity with great beauty and striking intimacy.
  • Starting with a literal bang from the timpani and strings, Robert Schumann’s arresting, romantic concerto for piano and orchestra is impulsive – almost manic, even – in its creativity. Pianist Alexander Melnikov brings true star power and originality to this fantastic concerto.
  • Tchaikovsky considered his Sixth Symphony as ‘the best thing I ever composed or shall compose’. Full of nostalgic warmth, passion, and heart, the Sixth is a musical meditation on the joys of a life remembered, tempered by the inevitability of death. It ends, not in jubilant celebration as was the symphonic tradition at the time, but in a supremely effective fade out to silence.

Duration: approx. 2 hours including interval

Listen to Tchaikovsky's Sixth Symphony

Enhance your experience

Want to learn more about the music being performed? Arrive early for an informative and entertaining pre-concert talk.

Thursday 13 June at 6.45pm
Saturday 15 June at 1.15pm

Hamer Hall Stalls Foyer

Pre-order printed program

Pre-order now for expedited pick-up when you arrive at the performance.

Stay tuned. Sign up.