Skip to main content

Archived event

Performance details

Friday 22 March 2024 at 11am
Arts Centre Melbourne, Hamer Hall

View digital program


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Jaime Martín conductor
Alban Gerhardt cello


Grieg Peer Gynt Suite No.1
Elgar Cello Concerto

About this performance

Grieg's incidental music for Ibsen's play Peer Gynt has become widely referenced across pop culture, and the Suite No.1 contains its most memorable melodies, including Morning Mood and In the Hall of the Mountain King.

Elgar composed his Cello Concerto in the aftermath of the First World War. This extraordinary piece – at once emotionally reserved and overflowing in its lyrical expansiveness – has become a cornerstone of 20th century music, and Alban Gerhardt brings intense musicality to perform this ravishing piece.

Duration: approx. 1 hour, no interval

Stay tuned. Sign up.