Skip to main content

Archived event

Performance details

Sunday 29 May 2022 at 11am
Deakin Edge, Federation Square

Read program


Musicians of the MSO
Guest violinists from Scotch College


Stephen Newton In Medias Res for solo Double Bass (World premiere)
Ravel Sonata for Violin and Cello: 3rd movement Lent
Adrian Hollay Farewell for String Quartet
David Paterson Quartettsätze for String Quartet
Anton Koch Trapped for String Quintet
Edward Fairlie Under/Over for String Ensemble (World premiere)
Debussy (arr. Anton Koch) Pour l'Egyptienne for Solo Violin and Strings
Ravel (arr. Anton Koch) Sonata for Violin and Piano: 2nd movement Blues for Solo Violin and Strings
Anton Koch The Court of Berevew for String Ensemble (World premiere)*
Anton Koch Darkness to Light for Solo Violin, Cello and Strings*

*Featuring guest violinists from Scotch College: Prithvi Ramesh Etta, Leon Fei and Geoff Liu.

About this performance

After six Melbourne lockdowns, this concert is a deep emotional exploration of our last two years, emerging from desolation to hope. Building from a solo for Double Bass through duets, quartets, quintets and works for larger ensembles, this program curated by MSO Violin Sarah Curro showcases the string musicians of the MSO and special guests.

New works by Australian composers David Paterson, Edward Fairlie, Anton Koch and the MSO’s own Double Bass Stephen Newton are featured alongside arrangements of works by Debussy and Ravel. The Court of Berevew, commissioned by Ben Castle, Head of Strings at Scotch College, receives its overdue world premiere after a cancellation in 2021.

Duration: approx. 65 minutes, no interval

Stay tuned. Sign up.