Skip to main content

Archived event

Performance details

Friday 7 May 2021 at 6.30pm
Arts Centre Melbourne, Hamer Hall

View program

Watch online

Vivaldi's The Four Seasons is available for streaming on MSO.LIVE.

Watch now


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Nicholas Bochner conductor


Vivaldi The Four Seasons
Paul Stanhope Dancing on Clouds
Michael Daugherty Strut

What could be more Melbourne than four seasons in one day? Vivaldi’s masterpiece for violin and orchestra musically depicts everything from a flower-strewn meadow to a violent thunderstorm, with plenty of orchestral fireworks along the way.

The evening is bookended by thrilling short works by contemporary composers. Dancing on Clouds by Australian composer Paul Stanhope is an imaginative flight of fancy into the heavens, where anything is possible. And Grammy Award-winning American composer Michael Daugherty’s Strut is an edge-of-your seat spin through the Harlem Renaissance of the 1920s, inspired by actor, singer and civil rights activist Paul Robeson.

“Vivaldi’s Four Seasons is perfect music for someone unfamiliar with the classical music universe.”

- Max Richter


Ears Wide Open is proudly presented by TarraWarra Estate.


Ears Wide Open program is supported by City of Melbourne.

Crown Packer 1404X504 Jpg

This event is supported by Crown Resorts Foundation and Packer Family Foundation.

Cybec 400X142

Nicholas Bochner’s position as MSO Assistant Conductor for Learning & Engagement is supported by the Cybec Foundation.

Stay tuned. Sign up.