Tognetti and the Lark Ascending


Britten Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes
Lutosławski Partita
Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending
Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances

Sir Andrew Davis conductor
Richard Tognetti violin

Conducted by Sir Andrew Davis with Australia’s violin master, Richard Tognetti, this concert will feature Vaughan Williams’ The Lark Ascending which was placed No.1 in the ABC’s Swoon Classic 100 countdown in 2015. The work itself remains a glorious evocation of English pastoral life — the solo violin being the evocation of George Meredith’s soaring verse.

Benjamin Britten’s Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes conveys all the scrunchy saltiness of the coast of his beloved East Anglia. The program also includes the Partita for Violin and Orchestra, by Witold Lutosławski, and Rachmaninov’s vibrant Symphonic Dances.

Pre-Concert Talk
19 August at 7pm, Foyer, Robert Blackwood Hall
20 August at 1pm, Stalls Foyer, Hamer Hall
Lucy Rash will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

Post-Concert Conversation
22 August at 8:30pm, Stalls Foyer, Hamer Hall
Join MSO Director of Artistic Planning Ronald Vermeulen for a post-concert conversation.

Duration: 1 hour and 40 minutes, including a 20-minute interval


Back to What's On