Sibelius and Shostakovich


Sibelius Rakastava
Munro Flute Concerto WORLD PREMIERE
Sibelius Impromptu
Shostakovich, arr. Barshai Chamber Symphony, Op.73a

Dale Barltrop violin/director
Prudence Davis flute

MSO Concertmaster Dale Barltrop directs members of the orchestra in two Sibelius works: the intimate Rakastava (The Lover), and the sweeping Impromptu. Sibelius was famed for his trenchant opinions. For example, this put-down: ‘Pay no attention to what the critics say. A statue had never been erected in honour of a critic.’

He was refreshingly honest when it came to his own compositions, saying, ‘Whereas most other modern composers are engaged in manufacturing cocktails of every hue and description, I offer the public pure cold water.’

Shostakovich’s anguished Chamber Symphony, Op.73a, is an arrangement for string orchestra of his String Quartet No.3 by the conductor Rudolf Barshai.

Also included in this program is the world premiere of a flute concerto by eminent Australian composer, soloist and pedagogue, Ian Munro.

Pre-Concert Talk
17 November at 7pm, Elisabeth Murdoch Hall, Melbourne Recital Centre
18 November at 7pm, Costa Hall, Deakin University
19 November at 1pm, Elisabeth Murdoch Hall, Melbourne Recital Centre
Andrew Aronowicz will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

Duration: 1 hour and 35 minutes, including a 20-minute interval

Back to What's On