Rachmaninov's Paganini Rhapsody


Haydn Symphony No.6 Le matin
Rachmaninov Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
Ives Symphony No.4

Sir Andrew Davis conductor
Jean-Efflam Bavouzet piano
Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Chorus

Chief Conductor Sir Andrew Davis, ever the diligent adventurer, takes us from early Haydn — his Symphony No.6, Le matin — to Rachmaninov’s famous Rhapsody on the Theme of Paganini, with the French virtuoso Jean-Efflam Bavouzet in the piano hotseat. But the quirkiest piece is after the interval: the incomparable Symphony No.4 by the American composer and insurance agent (true), Charles Ives. It’s worth pointing out that, in 1908, Ives married a nurse called Harmony Twichell. Composed in the early 1920s, the Symphony No.4 took another 40 years before it received its first full performance, and 11 years after Ives’ death. It took that long to decipher the chaos of the original manuscript, let alone marshal the forces required to do it justice: chorus, solo piano (here, the estimable Mr Bavouzet) and organ as well as full orchestra.

Pre-Concert Talk
16 and 17 June at 7pm, Stalls Foyer, Hamer Hall
Warren Lenthall will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

Duration: 1 hour and 40 minutes, including a 20-minute interval


Back to What's On