Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto


R. Strauss Serenade for Winds
Mendelssohn Violin Concerto
R. Strauss, arr. Dean Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks
Stravinsky Pulcinella: Suite

Eoin Andersen violin/director

MSO Concertmaster Eoin Andersen directs the MSO in a fascinating program of music by Richard Strauss, Igor Stravinsky and Felix Mendelssohn (his beloved Violin Concerto, with Andersen as soloist). It has been noted that the full title of Strauss’ tone poem Till Eulenspiegel takes almost as long to say as the piece does to perform: Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche nach alter Schelmenweise in Rondeauform für grosses Orchester gesetz (Till Eulenspiegel’s merry pranks, after the old rogue’s tale, set for large orchestra in rondo-form). The version of the work which will be heard in this performance is arranged for chamber orchestra by Australian composer Brett Dean. Opening the program is Strauss’ Serenade for 13 wind instruments, written when he was just 17. And at 9 minutes, it is the soul of brevity.

Pre-Concert Talk
9 June at 7pm, Elisabeth Murdoch Hall, Melbourne Recital Centre
10 June at 7pm, Foyer, Robert Blackwood Hall
Andrew Aronowicz will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

Post-Concert Conversation
11 June at 8:30pm, Elisabeth Murdoch Hall, Melbourne Recital Centre
Join MSO Director of Artistic Planning Ronald Vermeulen for a post-concert conversation.

Duration: 1 hour and 30 minutes, including a 20-minute interval

Back to What's On