Mendelssohn's Italian Symphony


Elgar In the South (Alassio)
R. Strauss Violin Concerto
Mendelssohn Symphony No.4 Italian

Sir Andrew Davis conductor
James Ehnes violin

Let the MSO transport you to sunnier climes this August with an Italian-inspired program conducted by Sir Andrew Davis. Elgar’s concert overture In the South (Alassio) evokes the Italian Riviera where the composer wrote, the landscape and the history of the town providing the spark of inspiration needed to create this lively, cheerful piece.

Mendelssohn’s Symphony No.4 Italian is a musical postcard and reflects the exhilarating impression the country made on the young composer. A buoyant and optimistic work, the symphony conjures up colour and atmosphere of Italy and ‘the supreme joy inlife’ Mendelssohn felt at the time.

Also on the program is Strauss’ youthful Violin Concerto, performed by James Ehnes in his second week with the MSO in 2016.


James Ehnes

Pre-Concert Talk
11, 12 and 13 August at 7pm, Stalls Foyer, Hamer Hall
MSO Orchestra Librarian Alastair McKean will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

Duration: 1 hour and 40 minutes, including a 20-minute interval

Back to What's On