Bach's Orchestral Suite No.3

Ears Wide Open 1


J.S. Bach Orchestral Suite No.3

Richard Gill conductor

The stately beauties of J.S. Bach’s Orchestral Suite No.3 culminate in the celebrated Italianate aria – one of Bach’s most inspired compositions. Its more familiar name, Air on the G String, refers to a later arrangement, not by Bach. When Goethe heard the Suite performed on the piano by Mendelssohn, he compared the music to ‘a procession of elegantly dressed people proceeding down a great staircase’.

Back to What's On