Elgar, Bach, Puccini, and Dvorak


Elgar Introduction and Allegro
J.S. Bach Violin Concerto No.2
Puccini Crisantemi
Dvořák Serenade for Strings

James Ehnes violin/director

Four of the finest works for strings feature in this concert directed by Canadian violinist James Ehnes, making a welcome return to the MSO for two concerts. Along with the familiar — J.S. Bach’s Violin Concerto No.2, with Ehnes as soloist, and Dvořák’s Serenade for Strings — is Elgar’s autumnal Introduction and Allegro and Puccini’s miniature masterpiece, Crisantemi (Chrysanthemums). Composed in just one night in 1890, this six-minute work was originally for string quartet, but is mostly performed in its string orchestra version.

Pre-Concert Talk
4 August at 7pm, Elisabeth Murdoch Hall, Melbourne Recital Centre
5 August at 7pm, Costa Hall, Deakin University
Megan Burslem will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

Post-Concert Conversation
6 August at 8:30pm, Elisabeth Murdoch Hall, Melbourne Recital Centre
Join MSO Director of Artistic Planning Ronald Vermeulen for a post-concert conversation.

Duration: 1 hour and 30 minutes, including a 20-minute interval

Back to What's On