Hrusa Conducts Suk's Asrael Symphony


Mozart Symphony No.25
Suk Symphony No.2 Asrael

Jakub Hrůša conductor

The Czech conductor Jakub Hrůša has formed a significant bond with the MSO. In 2014, he conducted an extraordinary performance of Smetana’s great nationalistic hymn, Má vlast (My Country) — the orchestra’s first ever performance of the complete cycle. In 2016, Hrůša conducts another, less well-known Czech masterpiece, the Symphony No.2 Asrael, by Josef Suk (1874-1935). When Hrůša conducted the same work in London, with the Philharmonia, he spoke about Suk’s unique ability to inspire. ‘Specifically, Asrael is the greatest example here. The personal tragedy [the deaths within two years of Dvořák, his father-in-law and teacher, and Otilie, his wife, and Dvořák’s daughter] was transformed through the power of musical art into a vision of hope and comfort for everybody.’

Duration: 1 hour a 40 minutes, including a 20-minute interval

Back to What's On