An Alpine Symphony


Vaughan Williams Serenade to Music
Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto
R. Strauss An Alpine Symphony

Sir Andrew Davis conductor
Ray Chen violin
Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Chorus

‘Strauss’ most grandiloquent orchestral score’ – The Guardian

Crafted to conjure vivid images of glaciers, meadows and storms, An Alpine Symphony is a mountainous undertaking for any orchestra, and an extravagant adventure for the audience.

Inspired by Richard Strauss’ own Alpine adventures as a young man, the work depicts an adventure-filled day in the Alps, from dusk til dawn, through forests, waterfalls and thunderstorms. With over 110 musicians on stage and 22 continuous movements of music, An Alpine Symphony requires an immense degree of force and endurance from the orchestra, and some unusual instruments – a heckelphone, wind machine, cowbells and thunder machine.

Alongside this great work, superstar violinist Ray Chen will perform Tchaikovsky’s most famous, and famously difficult violin concerto. Winner of countless awards and accolades, Chen performed his solo orchestral debut at the tender age of eight with the Queensland Philharmonic Orchestra. Since then he has performed at some of the world’s most prestigious events, with The Strad and Gramophone profiling him as “the one to watch”.

The program will also feature Vaughan Williams’ heavenly and serene Serenade to Music, set to text adapted from Shakespeare, whose 400th anniversary is celebrated in 2016, and performed by the MSO Chorus

An Alpine Symphony is a musical adventure for the imagination – a concert not to be missed in 2016.

Pre-Concert Talk
10, 11 and 12 March at 7pm, Stalls Foyer, Hamer Hall
MSO Orchestra Librarian Alastair McKean will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

Duration: 2 hours, including a 25-minute interval

Back to What's On