Sibelius Finlandia


Sibelius Finlandia
Nielsen Violin Concerto
Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela
Sibelius Symphony No.5

Yan Pascal Tortelier conductor
Kolja Blacher violin

Yan Pascal Tortelier celebrates the 150th anniversary of two Nordic masters. Sibelius’ majestic Finlandia is balanced against Nielsen’s spirited Violin Concerto, while the haunting tone poem The Swan of Tuonela conjures a dreamlike portrait of the underworld, inspired by Finnish mythology. Sibelius’ Symphony No.5, with its soaring ‘swan theme’ finale, brings proceedings to a thrilling climax.

Pre-concert talk (19 & 20 November at 7pm)
MSO Director of Artistic Planning Ronald Vermeulen will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

Concert Program


Back to What's On