Brahms & Schumann


Schumann Piano Quartet
Brahms String Sextet No.2

Eoin Andersen violin
Matthew Tomkins violin
Lauren Brigden viola
Christopher Cartlidge viola
Rachael Tobin cello
Michelle Wood cello
Stefan Cassomenos piano

Schumann’s Piano Quartet offers moments of great ferocity, precise counterpoint and rapturous piano passages. Brahms’ lyrical String Sextet No.2, with its secret coded reference to the soprano Agathe von Siebold, is a meditation on lost love, its hints of sadness and yearning evolving into a stirring, optimistic finale.

Back to What's On