Arabian Night


Nielsen Aladdin: Seven Pieces
Saint-Saëns Piano Concerto No.5 Egyptian
Rimsky-Korsakov Scheherazade

Benjamin Northey conductor
Andrea Lam piano

It’s said that Saint-Saëns heard one of the sensuous themes of his Egyptian Concerto sung by Nubian boat-men as he was sailing down the Nile – and wrote it down on his shirt-cuff then and there. Australian-born pianist Andrea Lam, lauded for her ‘thrilling virtuosity’ (Sydney Morning Herald) joins the MSO for this exciting concerto – part of a celebration of great orchestral music inspired by the Middle East, which culminates in Rimsky-Korsakov’s magical collection of tales from the 1001 Nights, Scheherazade.

The concert will be preceded by free organ recital at 6.30pm, performed by Doctor Calvin Bowman on the Town Hall organ.

2 hours with 20 minute interval.

Back to What's On