Mozart's Requiem

Proudly Presented by Emirates


Wagner The Mastersingers of Nuremberg: Prelude
Bartók Music for Strings, Percussion and Celeste
Mozart Requiem (compl. Süssmayr)

Edward Gardner conductor
Elena Xanthoudakis soprano
Sally-Anne Russell mezzo-soprano
Andrew Staples tenor
Matthew Rose bass
Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Chorus

Young British conductor Edward Gardner leads the MSO, soloists and chorus in the masterwork Mozart did not live to complete – his intensely moving Requiem. The prelude to Wagner’s only comedy precedes the powerful melodies and rhythms of Bartók’s showpiece.

Pre-concert talk
A panel discussion featuring musicians of the MSO on the concert’s repertoire and the 2013 season ahead.

Back to What's On