Sophie Rowell Plays Sutherland



Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Benjamin Northey conductor
Sophie Rowell violin


Mendelssohn Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Margaret Sutherland Violin Concerto
Ravel Mother Goose Suite

About the performance

MSO Concertmaster Sophie Rowell takes centre stage in this program celebrating one of the finest Australian works for violin of the 20th century.

  • A brilliant rediscovery
    Combining sweeping lyrical gestures with striking harmonies, Margaret Sutherland’s Violin Concerto is a work that’s both innovative and affable, but has been rarely seen since its premiere more than sixty years ago. The ‘rediscovery’ of this brilliant work composed by the ‘mother of modern Australian music’ is a great opportunity for the MSO to showcase the extraordinary talent of MSO Concertmaster Sophie Rowell.
  • MSO Concertmaster takes centre stage
    Through her career, MSO Concertmaster Sophie Rowell has become a favourite soloist, chamber musician and principal orchestral violinist on all the country’s major concert stages. She has travelled the world playing principal violin with the Scottish & Mahler Chamber Orchestras and the Vancouver, Sydney and Tasmanian Symphony Orchestras.
  • Enchanting and exquisite
    This program is bookended by two enchanting works: Mendelssohn’s vibrant overture A Midsummer Night’s Dream and Ravel’s Mother Goose ballet suite – an exquisite orchestral depiction of the famous childrens’ tales.

Duration: approx. 60 minutes with no interval

Program and artists subject to change

Back to What's On