Due to the extended closure of our performance venues we regret that this concert will not proceed.

We are committed to ensuring the longevity and sustainability of the MSO, and we thank you for your patience, understanding and support during this time. We will, however, keep the music going! We invite all music-lovers to enjoy free online concerts via our YouTube channel.

If you hold a ticket to this performance, instead of requesting a refund, we ask you to consider donating the value of your ticket to enable us to live stream more free events and continue the mission of the MSO, to enrich lives through music. Please email our Box Office prior to the performance date at if you would prefer to do this and we thank you in advance if you choose to donate during this uncertain period. MSO gift cards (valid for 3 years) and fee-free exchanges are also available.

Refunds will automatically be processed to the credit card used to make the purchase on the scheduled concert date. Please note, refunds may take 10 business days to arrive in your account.

Further information can be found on the Cancelled and Rescheduled Concerts page


Sophie Rowell director/violin
James Crabb accordion


J.S Bach Orchestral Suite No.3
Aulis Sallinen Barabbas Variations
J.S Bach Concerto in A minor
Agri / Carli Desde Adentro
Grieg Holberg Suite

About the Performance

Bach the modernist.

The greatest and most prolific of composers, J.S Bach still has plenty to teach us about the joys of new music.

MSO Concertmaster Sophie Rowell leads the Orchestra through this concert which sees the genius of Bach refashioned, with classical accordionist James Crabb performing as soloist.

The Scottish accordion virtuoso has been praised the world-over for his versatile musicianship and has appeared with the London Philharmonic, BBC Scottish, MSO and countless contemporary world-class ensembles.

Contemporary Finnish composer Aulis Sallinen’s Barrabas Variations also features accordion as the solo instrument, a melancholy work which builds from a frenetic atmosphere, featuring trills and repeated rhythms to a haunting, wistful conclusion.

Sophie Rowell leads the MSO in Bach’s Orchestral Suite No.3 and Concerto in A minor, highlighting the composer’s mastery of harmony and counterpoint.

Contrasting a mournful violin line with the energy of the accordion, Antonio Agri’s Desde Adentro (meaning “from within”) will profile Crabb’s passion and acclaimed authority of his instrument, before Rowell takes over for Grieg’s Holberg Suite.

Back to What's On