Due to the extended closure of our performance venues we regret that this concert will not proceed.

We are committed to ensuring the longevity and sustainability of the MSO, and we thank you for your patience, understanding and support during this time. We will, however, keep the music going! We invite all music-lovers to enjoy free online concerts via our YouTube channel.

If you hold a ticket to this performance, instead of requesting a refund, we ask you to consider donating the value of your ticket to enable us to live stream more free events and continue the mission of the MSO, to enrich lives through music. Please email our Box Office prior to the performance date at if you would prefer to do this and we thank you in advance if you choose to donate during this uncertain period. MSO gift cards (valid for 3 years) and fee-free exchanges are also available.

Refunds will automatically be processed to the credit card used to make the purchase on the scheduled concert date. Please note, refunds may take 10 business days to arrive in your account.

Further information can be found on the Cancelled and Rescheduled Concerts page


Barber Adagio for Strings
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4
Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances


Benjamin Northey conductor
Jean-Efflam Bavouzet piano

About the performance

The master and the maestro!

One of the world’s leading interpreters of Beethoven, pianist Jean-Efflam Bavouzet brings his expertise to bear on the beautiful Piano Concerto No. 4.

Precision and sensitivity are vital for the delicate dance between piano and orchestra that is Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4. The piece became something of the bookend to the composer’s performing career. At the premiere, Beethoven was the soloist and years later, it would be his final solo performance with orchestra. Since then, many of the world’s greatest pianists have tackled it, including Beethoven specialist Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, his talents described as “powerfully assured”, “phenomenal” and “blisteringly precise”.

Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances was his final composition, and in many ways a summing up of his influences. Living in Long Island in the summer of 1940, Rachmaninov returned to composing after a period of relative quiet, he composed nothing at all between 1937-39. His Symphonic Dances is typically lush and rhythmically dynamic, and though slow to gain recognition, is much-admired on the concert platform today.

Repertoire change

Please note that Fauré’s Pavane has been replaced with Barber’s Adagio for Strings, and as such the MSO Chorus will no longer feature in this performance.

Back to What's On