Due to the extended closure of our performance venues we regret that this concert will not proceed.

We are committed to ensuring the longevity and sustainability of the MSO, and we thank you for your patience, understanding and support during this time. We will, however, keep the music going! We invite all music-lovers to enjoy free online concerts via our YouTube channel.

If you hold a ticket to this performance, instead of requesting a refund, we ask you to consider donating the value of your ticket to enable us to live stream more free events and continue the mission of the MSO, to enrich lives through music. Please email our Box Office prior to the performance date at if you would prefer to do this and we thank you in advance if you choose to donate during this uncertain period. MSO gift cards (valid for 3 years) and fee-free exchanges are also available.

Refunds will automatically be processed to the credit card used to make the purchase on the scheduled concert date. Please note, refunds may take 10 business days to arrive in your account.

Further information can be found on the Cancelled and Rescheduled Concerts page


Tianyi Lu conductor
Li-Wei Qin cello


Ravel Le Tombeau de Couperin
Saint-Saëns Cello Concerto No.1
Tchaikovsky Swan Lake Suite

About the performance

The glory of swans and Saint-Saëns.

It’s hard to believe there was a time when Tchaikovsky genuinely thought his music for the ballet Swan Lake would fall into oblivion.

The first impression of Swan Lake came about thanks to Anna and Tanya Davidová, Tchaikovsky’s cherished nieces. Uncle Piotr presented a summer afternoon’s entertainment to them in 1871, music that the composer then merged with selections from two of his early ill-fated operas, to create the first version of Swan Lake. But it was far from a great success at its Moscow premiere six years later and Tchaikovsky feared his music would be forgotten.

Before his death in 1893, Tchaikovsky asked his publisher for a copy of his score, as he intended to select a suite from it. He never did, but the suite – whoever chose the pieces – is a Romantic orchestral masterpiece adored the world-over. The ballet would of course, go on to become one of the most popular of all time.

Tianyi Lu will make her Melbourne Town Hall debut for this magnificent concert, and brilliant Australian–Chinese cellist Li-Wei Qin will tackle Saint-Saëns’ Cello Concerto.

Camille Saint-Saëns’ first Cello Concerto premiered in 1873 – a time when pianos and violins most frequently took centre stage in the concerto format. Known for its compression of the traditional three-movements into one uninterrupted 20-minute piece, Saint-Saëns champions the cello with a solo part which demonstrates both its lyrical and dramatic qualities.

Completing the program is Ravel’s tribute to Baroque style, his 1919 orchestral suite, Le Tombeau de Couperin.

East meets West logo lockup

Back to What's On