With major event restrictions still to be lifted to a point where we can perform for you in the concert hall, we regret that this MSO performance will not proceed.

We are committed to ensuring the longevity and sustainability of the MSO, and we thank you for your patience, understanding and support during this time. We will, however, keep the music going! We invite all music-lovers to enjoy free online concerts via our YouTube channel.

If you hold a ticket to this performance, instead of requesting a refund, we ask you to consider donating the value of your ticket to enable us to live stream more free events and continue the mission of the MSO, to enrich lives through music. Please email our Box Office prior to the performance date at if you would prefer to do this and we thank you in advance if you choose to donate during this uncertain period. MSO gift cards (valid for 3 years) and fee-free exchanges are also available.

Refunds will automatically be processed to the credit card used to make the purchase on the scheduled concert date. Please note, refunds may take 10 business days to arrive in your account.

Further information can be found on the Cancelled and Rescheduled Concerts page


David Zinman conductor
Gil Shaham violin


Brahms Academic Festival Overture
Brahms Violin Concerto
Brahms Serenade No. 1

About the performance

A virtuoso violinist tackles Brahms.

Suitable only for the world’s greatest violinists, the fiendishly complicated Brahms’ Violin Concerto in D major provides Gil Shaham the perfect platform to display his legendary virtuosity.

Famed 19th century violinist Pablo de Sarasate refused to play it because Brahms included an oboe solo, remarking that he didn’t want to “stand on the rostrum, violin in hand and listen to the oboe play the only tune in the adagio”. American–Israeli violinist Gil Shaham has no such qualms; he has played the piece to great acclaim the world over.

A work of immense beauty, it is greatly indebted to the one man who towered over Brahms, psychologically as much as musically, Beethoven. This concerto references Beethoven’s in complex ways, but refuses to remain under its shade. Shaham’s exquisite playing demonstrates the work’s legitimacy in its own right.

Update to performance

Please note that conductor Cristian Macelaru has been replaced by David Zinman. Further, Dvořák’s Legends has been replaced by Brahms’ Academic Festival Overture and Shostakovich’s Symphony No.1 has been replaced by Brahms’ Serenade No. 1.

Back to What's On