Due to the extended closure of our performance venues we regret that this concert will not proceed.

We are committed to ensuring the longevity and sustainability of the MSO, and we thank you for your patience, understanding and support during this time. We will, however, keep the music going! We invite all music-lovers to enjoy free online concerts via our YouTube channel.

If you hold a ticket to this performance, instead of requesting a refund, we ask you to consider donating the value of your ticket to enable us to live stream more free events and continue the mission of the MSO, to enrich lives through music. Please email our Box Office prior to the performance date at if you would prefer to do this and we thank you in advance if you choose to donate during this uncertain period. MSO gift cards (valid for 3 years) and fee-free exchanges are also available.

Refunds will automatically be processed to the credit card used to make the purchase on the scheduled concert date. Please note, refunds may take 10 business days to arrive in your account.

Further information can be found on the Cancelled and Rescheduled Concerts page


Lawrence Renes conductor
Joyce Yang piano


Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No.1
Bruckner Symphony No.4 Romantic

About the performance

The dark side of the Romantic.

The range and depth of Late-Romantic music is on stunning display in this darkly expressive and passionate concert.

Seeking some advice on his first piano concerto, Tchaikovsky played the work for his friend and confidant Nikolai Rubinstein on Christmas Eve of 1874. Sullen silence greeted the composer before Rubinstein unloaded. He labelled the piece “worthless and unplayable” and Tchaikovsky rebuked, refusing to alter a single note. He did however, change the concerto’s dedication, replacing Rubinstein’s name with that of pianist Hans von Bülow. He adored the piece and eventually premiered the concerto in Boston, in October of 1875. And sure enough, the critical response ranged from harsh to indifferent. But the audience loved it, demanding an encore of the Finale. And they’ve loved it ever since.

It is with great anticipation the MSO welcomes back acclaimed pianist Joyce Yang to perform Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No.1. The Grammy-nominated Yang has been described as simply “astounding”, captivating audiences with her virtuosity and interpretive sensitivity.

On this program, the MSO also performs Bruckner’s Symphony No.4. Known with the composer’s approval as the Romantic symphony, it is a wide-ranging work which evokes the natural world, and humanity’s ambivalent place in it.

All the swirling emotion and psychological complexity of Late Romanticism is contained in these magnificent works. Under the baton of Dutch–Maltese conductor Lawrence Renes, they will come darkly to life.

East meets West logo lockup

Back to What's On