Due to the extended closure of our performance venues we regret that this concert will not proceed.

We are committed to ensuring the longevity and sustainability of the MSO, and we thank you for your patience, understanding and support during this time. We will, however, keep the music going! We invite all music-lovers to enjoy free online concerts via our YouTube channel.

If you hold a ticket to this performance, instead of requesting a refund, we ask you to consider donating the value of your ticket to enable us to live stream more free events and continue the mission of the MSO, to enrich lives through music. Please email our Box Office prior to the performance date at if you would prefer to do this and we thank you in advance if you choose to donate during this uncertain period. MSO gift cards (valid for 3 years) and fee-free exchanges are also available.

Refunds will automatically be processed to the credit card used to make the purchase on the scheduled concert date. Please note, refunds may take 10 business days to arrive in your account.

Further information can be found on the Cancelled and Rescheduled Concerts page


Andrew Macleod flute / piccolo
Thomas Hutchinson oboe
Philip Arkinstall clarinet
Jon Craven bass clarinet
Jack Schiller bassoon
Nicolas Fleury horn
Laurence Matheson piano


Janáček Mládí for wind sextet
Jordan Moore New Work – Cybec Young Composer in Residence, MSO Commission and World Premiere
Beethoven Quintet for piano and winds

About the performance

The young and the young at heart.

A concert that captures the curiosity of youth, with a sextet to echo its nostalgic charm and a world premiere by a young Australian composer.

Mládí, the title of Czech composer Leoš Janáček’s wind sextet translates to “Youth” – somewhat surprising considering Janáček was near 70 when it was written in 1924. The irrepressible composer had an extremely productive final decade. His opera for which is he most known, The Cunning Little Vixen was composed in the two years prior to Mládí, and a further opera, The Makropoulos Affair was composed the year after. Truly an original work of woodwind chamber music, Mládí is a melancholic consideration of the composer’s childhood – written with the wisdom and skill of an entire career’s compositional experience.

Before Beethoven composed the symphonies for which he is so adored today, a 27-year-old Ludwig tried his hand at a Quintet for the then, rather unusual combination of piano and winds. Only beginning to make his mark in Vienna as a composer, this Quintet was written in 1796 and was well received after its premiere, showing a slice of the genius Viennese society would come to know in the years ahead. Without the intense dramatic structure of his most famous works, the piece is delicate and nuanced.

This chamber recital also features a world premiere by the MSO’s 2020 Cybec Young Composer in Residence Jordan Moore, providing an opportunity to hear a brand new musical reflection of youth itself.

Back to What's On