With major event restrictions still to be lifted to a point where we can perform for you in the concert hall, we regret that this MSO performance will not proceed.

We are committed to ensuring the longevity and sustainability of the MSO, and we thank you for your patience, understanding and support during this time. We will, however, keep the music going! We invite all music-lovers to enjoy free online concerts via our YouTube channel.

If you hold a ticket to this performance, instead of requesting a refund, we ask you to consider donating the value of your ticket to enable us to live stream more free events and continue the mission of the MSO, to enrich lives through music. Please email our Box Office prior to the performance date at if you would prefer to do this and we thank you in advance if you choose to donate during this uncertain period. MSO gift cards (valid for 3 years) and fee-free exchanges are also available.

Refunds will automatically be processed to the credit card used to make the purchase on the scheduled concert date. Please note, refunds may take 10 business days to arrive in your account.

Further information can be found on the Cancelled and Rescheduled Concerts page


Sir Andrew Davis conductor
Camilla Tilling soprano
Samuel Hasselhorn baritone
MSO Chorus


Beethoven King Stephen Overture
Beethoven Ah! perfido
Brahms Ein deutsches Requiem

About the performance

Music as balm for the soul.

In his first MSO performance as Conductor Laureate, Sir Andrew Davis returns to conduct one of the most moving tributes to grief and remembrance, Brahms’ Ein deutsches Requiem.

Brahms called it Ein deutsches Requiem to distinguish it from the Latin kind, to lift it from the merely religious, making of it something humanist and secular. A German requiem was not specifically for the German people; Brahms’ wanted it to speak to all humanity. A transcendent choral work, with gloriously tender parts for baritone and soprano, it is a work that speaks to the best of us.

Brahms began composing Ein deutsches Requiem early in 1865, only a month or so after the death of his mother. The profound sense of loss and overwhelming grief of that time is unmistakably threaded throughout the music. But there’s also a wondrous feeling of gratitude. Where most requiems focus on the dead, Brahms’ begins with the living. The first words sung are “Blessed are they that mourn, for they shall be comforted”.

This concert will also feature two works by Beethoven; a fitting tribute to the man whose bust stared down at Brahms while he composed. Firstly, we have the rarely-heard King Stephen Overture, which was commissioned by Emperor Francis I of Austria. Second is the stunning, emotionally tempestuous concert aria Ah! perfido, most famously sung by Maria Callas.

Back to What's On