This performance will also be taking place at Robert Blackwood Hall, Monash University on Friday 23 August..


Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider conductor
Jian Wang cello


Mendelssohn A Midsummer Night’s Dream (excerpts)
Saint-Saëns Cello Concerto No.1
Berlioz Symphonie fantastique

About the performance

Musical enchantment from Mendelssohn’s ethereal music for A Midsummer Night’s Dream sets the scene for Saint-Saëns’ captivating Cello Concerto No. 1. It is a work with special memories for soloist, Jian Wang who played it for his orchestral debut with the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra at just 11 years old.

Nikolaj Znaider, one of the most recent big-name violinists to take up the baton, unleashes a frenzy of emotions in Berlioz’s fantastical symphony which Leonard Bernstein described as “the first psychedelic musical trip.”

It’s the story of a musician (Berlioz himself) and his unrequited passion for a woman (the Shakespearean actress Harriet Smithson), the woman of his dreams. Alongside the complex spectrum of emotions explored – passion, obsession, hallucination, depression and suicidal ideation – Berlioz weaves his idée fixe, his musical motif that represents the hero’s beloved, introduced by the violins and flutes. It is a motif that haunts him and the whole symphony, intensifying through subsequent movements.

Symphonie fantastique is full of theatrical effects that were ahead of its time. Listen out for our hero being decapitated with a massive chord in the March to the Scaffold, and the ‘beloved’, distorted and grotesque, dancing in the Witches Sabbath.

Pre-concert talk

Join composer, conductor and educator Vincent Plush for a pre-concert conversation inside Hamer Hall prior to the concert.

Pre-concert talk times

Thursday 22 August: 6.15pm
Saturday 24 August: 12.45pm

Running time

2 hours, including a 20-minute interval.

Pre-concert dining

Book into Café Vic at Arts Centre Melbourne for an exclusive dining package available at 6pm for the Friday and Saturday night performances. Book now via Arts Centre Melbourne.


2019年8月24日,星期六,下午 2:00



指挥:Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider
大提琴: 王健


圣桑 《第一大提琴协奏曲》
柏辽兹 《幻想交响曲》



著名小提琴家兼指挥Nikolaj Znaider将担任这场演出的指挥,他将带领乐团充分释放柏辽兹《幻想交响曲》中的多变而丰沛的情绪,这部作品被音乐家伦纳德·伯恩斯坦称为“第一部迷幻交响曲”。

这一作品讲述了一个音乐家(柏辽兹本人)对梦中情人(莎剧女演员哈丽艾特·史密森) 单相思的故事。除了一系列复杂而多变的情绪——激情、痴迷、幻觉、抑郁和自杀的念头以外,柏辽兹还加入了一个“固定乐思”作为代表他恋人的音乐主题,以小提琴和长笛引入。这一主题贯穿整个交响乐,并在连续的乐章中不断加强。


Back to What's On