Sir Andrew Davis and Lu Siqing

Season Opening Gala


Two contemporary masters. Together in Australia, for the first time.


Sir Andrew Davis conductor
Lu Siqing violin – 2019 Soloist in Residence
MSO Chorus


Borodin Prince Igor: Polovtsian Dances
Bruch Violin Concerto No.1
Tchaikovsky Symphony No.6 Pathétique

About the performance

Step into Hamer Hall and celebrate the start of 2019 as MSO Chief Conductor, Sir Andrew Davis leads the Orchestra through three brilliant works. Our Season Opening Gala has become a must-see event on Melbourne’s cultural calendar, so join us as the stage explodes with orchestral passion.

Bruch’s Violin Concerto is the embodiment of classical music’s Romantic period, and is widely-regarded as the most popular violin concerto ever written. The Finale is breathtaking; it’s no wonder that when Chinese superstar and MSO Soloist in Residence Lu Siqing performed this work with Sir Andrew and the MSO five times during 2018’s China tour, that they received standing ovations after each performance.

When Sir Andrew last led the MSO through Tchaikovsky’s Sixth Symphony on Australian soil, the reviews told the tale: “It’s hard to recall another interpretation to compare with (this) for power and emotional consistency” (The Age); “At times expansive and lyrical, at others highly energetic, the Orchestra gave one of its finest readings” (Classic Melbourne). The final symphony of the celebrated composer is a work of pure beauty. Take your seat as the Orchestra reunites with Sir Andrew to re-scale the heights, and plunge to the emotional depths, of this pathétique symphony.

Also on the program is Polovtsian Dances from Alexander Borodin’s unfinished Prince Igor opera. Sir Andrew and the Orchestra will be joined by the MSO Chorus for arguably the Russian composer’s most popular work. More than a simple opener, Polovtsian Dances will set the tone for an evening of classical masterpieces.

Pre-concert talk

Join MSO Cybec Assistant Conductor, Tianyi Lu inside Hamer Hall from 6.15pm for a pre-concert discussion about this evening’s program.

Running time

One hour and fifty minutes, including a 20 minute interval.


诚邀您前往汉默音乐厅(Hamer Hall),欣赏2019开年音乐会。由墨尔本交响乐团(MSO)首席指挥家安德鲁·戴维斯爵士领衔,倾情呈现3部杰出作品。MSO的开年盛典是墨尔本每年不容错过的精彩演出。音乐家们的全情投入,将为您带来无与伦比的音乐盛宴。


戴维斯爵士上一次在澳大利亚指挥演出柴可夫斯基的第6号交响曲《悲怆》时,媒体纷纷赞叹:“就表现力和情绪的饱满度来讲,没有哪一次演奏可以和此次相提并论。”(《世纪报》);“演奏时而柔和抒情,时而澎湃激昂,(墨尔本)交响乐团将这首曲目诠释得淋漓尽致。”(Classic Melbourne网)。这是这位著名作曲家的最后一支交响乐,极其唯美。MSO与戴维斯爵士联手精彩呈现,将在全新的高度带您感受其中的浓厚情感。


Back to What's On