Romance and Rhapsody

Chamber 2



Christopher Cartlidge viola
Rachel Tobin cello
Philip Arkinstall clarinet
Laurence Matheson piano


Dean Suite for Clarinet and Cello – World Premiere, 2019 Composer in Residence
Bruch 8 Pieces for Clarinet, Viola and Piano
Brahms clarinet trio

About the performance

Indulge in an intimate performance featuring some of the MSO’s finest players.

A friend of Brahms, writing to the composer about his Clarinet Trio, remarked “It is as if the instruments were in love with each other.” In this version, the viola takes the clarinet’s part, as it engages in effortless conversation with the cello and piano.

Best known for his works inspired by Hebrew and Scottish melodies, Max Bruch, occupying a similar aesthetic world to Brahms, composed his Eight Pieces for his clarinettist son.

Plus, you’ll hear the world premiere of MSO Composer in Residence Paul Dean’s newest work for chamber ensemble.

Back to What's On