Saint-Saëns’ Cello Concerto

MSO Mornings



Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider conductor
Jian Wang cello


Saint-Saëns Cello Concerto No.1
Mendelssohn A Midsummer Night’s Dream (excerpts)

Performance length

1 hour, no interval.

About the performance

The impeccable artistry of Camille Saint-Saëns is heard to grand effect in the first of his cello concertos, a work radiant with the melodic elegance and soulful passion that the cello conveys so well. The concerto is characteristic of Saint-Saëns’ desire to extend upon the foundations of the great classical repertoire through the gradual evolution of the composer’s skill and craftsmanship.

It is a work with special memories for soloist, Jian Wang who played it for his orchestral debut with the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra at just 11 years old.

Mendelssohn’s music to accompany A Midsummer Night’s Dream was born from a deep affection for Shakespeare’s plays that stemmed from the composer’s childhood. Mendelssohn converted his delight in Shakespeare’s words and stories into music bristling with the comic electricity and fairyland charm of the play. Star violinist turned conductor, Nikolaj Znaider brings his superb musicianship to this concert, and will lead the Orchestra through this winter-warming concert.

Secondary Schools are also invited to attend MSO Mornings performances!

Book Here

A suite of curriculum-linked pre-concert resources will be issued to all school ticket holders prior to your excursion, extending your school’s experience well beyond the concert itself!


2019年8月21日,星期三 上午11:00



指挥:Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider
大提琴: 王健


圣桑 《第一大提琴协奏曲》






门德尔松为戏剧《仲夏夜之梦》所创作的配乐,源于作曲家从少年时代开始对莎士比亚戏剧的热爱。在这部作品中,门德尔松将自己在阅读莎翁剧作中所感受的喜悦,化为活泼、诙谐又洋溢着童话般想象力的音乐语言。明星小提琴手兼指挥家Nikolaj Znaider将以他杰出的音乐才能指挥这场音乐会,与墨尔本交响乐团一起在冬日里用音乐为观众带来温暖。

Back to What's On