Beethoven, Mozart and Sibelius



Sir Andrew Davis conductor
Alessio Bax piano


Beethoven Egmont Overture
Mozart Piano Concerto No.27
Sibelius Symphony No.1

About the performance

Italian pianist Alessio Bax was First Prize-winner at both the Leeds and Hamamatsu international piano competitions. In this concert he plays Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.27 in B flat, the most symphonic of concertos, for his MSO debut.

The last of Mozart’s piano concertos, completed in the year of his death, heralds a new tone in Mozart’s work – one of simpler, unassuming expression. The concerto as a whole leaves a remarkable effect of rich and integrated emotional expression.

Sibelius’s First Symphony was written around the same time as his patriotic Finlandia: a time his native Finland was struggling for independence. Rich and romantic, the First Symphony is subtly flavoured with the Finnish folk-inspired melodies that would become quintessential Sibelius.

Full of the same drama and intensity as his Fifth Symphony, Beethoven’s Egmont Overture makes for an arresting opening to this dynamic program.

Pre-concert talk

Join pianist Tristan Lee, ahead of the performances on Friday and Saturday nights for a special pre-concert conversation inside Hamer Hall from 6.15pm.

Post-concert conversation

Join composer and ABC Classic producer, Andrew Aronowicz for a post-concert conversation in the Stalls Foyer of Hamer Hall following the performance.

Back to What's On