Tchaikovsky 5

Muhai Tang - James Ehnes



Muhai Tang conductor
James Ehnes violin


Brahms Tragic Overture
Kernis Violin Concerto – Australian Premiere
Tchaikovsky Symphony No.5

About the performance

Meet Muhai Tang, the charismatic Chinese-born conductor renowned for delivering edge-of-your-seat performances, so expect passion and drama aplenty.

The Australian premiere of the Violin Concerto by Pulitzer Prize-winning Aaron Jay Kernis will be a white heat experience. Kernis wrote it for James Ehnes’, who returns to Melbourne bringing his beautiful, lyrical tone and jaw-dropping virtuoso technique, promising poetry and fireworks before you even get to the Tchaikovsky!

Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony might be 130 years old in 2018, but the striking masterpiece has stood the test of time, becoming one of the composer’s most popular works. A live experience you won’t forget.

Pre-concert talk

Friday, 13 April and Saturday, 14 April
Join MSO’s Education Manager, Lucy Rash for a pre-concert conversation inside Hamer Hall from 6.15pm.

Post-concert talk

Monday, 16 April
Join MSO’s Education Manager, Lucy Rash for a post-concert conversation inside the Stalls Foyer of Hamer Hall from 8.30pm.

Running time

2 hours, including a 20-minute interval

Melbourne Recital Centre presents James Ehnes in solo recital as part of their Great Performers 2018 series.

Back to What's On