Saint Saëns Great Organ Symphony

Northey - Piers Lane



Benjamin Northey conductor
Piers Lane piano
Calvin Bowman organ


Kodaly Dances of Galanta
Liszt Piano Concerto No.1
Saint-Saëns Symphony No.3 Organ

Running time

1 hour and 45 minutes, including a 20-minute interval

About the performance

The hugely popular Saint-Saëns Organ Symphony is the perfect piece to experience the majestic power of the MSO and the mighty Town Hall organ in the hands of Calvin Bowman, conducted by Benjamin Northey.

Internationally renowned Australian pianist Piers Lane joins the MSO to perform the sparkling and virtuosic Piano Concerto No.1 of Franz Liszt.

Pre-concert organ recital

Ticket holders are invited to attend a free, 30-minute pre-concert recital by Dr Calvin Bowman, on the Melbourne Town Hall grand organ, commencing at 6.30pm.

Want to increase your music knowledge?

Attend Ears Wide Open: Dances of Galanta, where you will learn about one of the pieces being performed at the concert.

For only $35 ($30 concession), you will go on a part-concert, part-guided-music journey with MSO Assistant Principal Cellist Nicholas Bochner presenting the concert while trombonist and conductor Brett Kelly leads the Orchestra.

This concert is proudly supported by City of Melbourne.

City of Melbourne logo

Back to What's On