New World Symphony


*Student tickets available for Saturday and Monday night performances.

Powerhouse masterpieces, including one of the most popular symphonies ever written.

Beautiful repertoire. Maestro conductor.



Smetana The Bartered Bride Overture – conducted by Tianyi Lu
Schumann Piano Concerto
Dvořák Symphony No.9 From the New World


Xian Zhang conductor
Tianyi Lu conductor – MSO Cybec Assistant Conductor
Benjamin Grosvenor piano

Did you know?

That John Williams borrowed a few melodies from Dvořák’s Ninth symphony to create that instantly recognisable Jaws tune. Hear the similarities here.

About the performance

Beijing-born maestro Xian Zhang returns to the MSO for a program of powerhouse masterpieces that exemplify the romantic era.

Schumann’s only piano concerto was written for his wife Clara, an extraordinary solo performer. A brilliant vehicle for virtuosity, the work is a conversation between soloist and orchestra that intertwines like the love between Clara and Robert. This exhilarating work will showcase pianist Benjamin Grosvenor’s exceptional talent and the full range of the orchestra.

Soaring woodwinds and deep resonant brass have made Dvořák’s New World symphony one of the world’s consistently favourite orchestral works. Melodies inspired by Native American and African-American music evoke the beauty of wide open spaces and a connection to the land. With its soulful lament and lingering echoes of darker memories, it’s no wonder this work is a ‘must-see’ of classical music fans everywhere.

MSO Cybec Assistant Conductor Tianyi Lu also takes a turn at the podium for an audience favourite. Encapsulating the vitality and bustle of a Czech village, Smetana’s rollicking overture to The Bartered Bride will set the scene for a dynamic evening of gorgeous music.

Pre-concert talk

Friday, 21 September and Saturday, 22 September
Join Assistant Principal 2nd Violin of the MSO, Monica Curro for a pre-concert conversation on-stage at Hamer Hall from 6.15pm.

Post-concert talk

Monday, 24 September
Join composer and ABC Classic FM producer, Andrew Aronowicz for a post-concert conversation inside the Stalls Foyer of Hamer Hall from 8.30pm.

Running time

1 hour and 45 minutes, including a 20-minute interval

Benjamin Grosvenor, photo credit: Juan Diego Castillo

Benjamin Grosvenor, photo credit: Juan Diego Castillo

Back to What's On