Beethoven & Brahms

Jayson Gillham



Joshua Weilerstein conductor
Jayson Gillham piano


Beethoven Piano Concerto No.3
Brahms/Klengel Intermezzo Op.117 No.1
Brahms Piano Quartet (orchestral version)

About the performance

What a pairing! Epic Beethoven in the hands of pianist Jayson Gillham, the child prodigy from the Queensland bush, and Joshua Weilerstein who hails from a notable musical dynasty.

Beethoven’s extraordinary Piano Concerto No.3 with its kaleidoscope of colours and emotions transcends its Mozartian model and the romantic, slow movement is the part to listen out for.

The magnificent orchestration of Brahms’ Piano Quartet with its toe-tapping Hungarian dance finale completes a rich musical menu.

Pre-concert talk

Friday, 20 July and Saturday, 21 July
Join writer, podcaster and broadcaster Ben Nielsen for a free pre-concert conversation inside Hamer Hall from 6.15pm.

Post-concert talk

Monday, 23 July
Join us for a free post-concert conversation inside the Stalls Foyer of Hamer Hall from 8.30pm.

Running time

2 hours, including a 20-minute inveral

Joshua Weilerstein
Joshua Weilerstein – image credit: Felix Broede

Back to What's On