Sounds Of Spring


Beethoven Spring Sonata
Copland Appalachian Spring
Piazzolla The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

Eoin Andersen violin/director
Stefan Cassomenos piano

MSO Concertmaster Eoin Andersen invites you to enjoy some of his favourite works celebrating the return of spring.

Beethoven’s Spring Sonata, bursting with lyricism and pastoral themes will see Eoin Andersen together with Melbourne’s own Stefan Cassomenos, who in 2013 was a laureate of the International Telekom Beethoven Competition in Bonn.

The second work on the programme, Copland’s powerful evocation of the life of American pioneers in the Appalachian Mountains, will be played in the original version for 13 instruments, lead from the first violin by Andersen.

In the second half we go to the southern hemisphere, where Astor Piazzolla mixes the fire of the tango with Vivaldi-flourishes in his highly original take on Four Seasons in Buenos Aires for violin and string orchestra.

Pre-concert talk: join MSO Second Violinist, Andrew Hall, for a 30-minute discussion on tonight’s repertoire.
Thursday 30 November Melbourne Recital Centre foyer at 7pm
Friday 1 December Robert Blackwood Hall foyer at 7pm

Running time: 2 hours, including a 20-minute interval

Back to What's On