MSO Plays La Mer


Stravinsky Scherzo fantastique
Debussy La Mer
Brahms Piano Concerto No.1

Otto Tausk conductor
Saleem Ashkar piano

Delve into Stravinsky’s magical Scherzo fantastique – a feast of excitable strings and a flurry of woodwinds. Following 19th century Russian tastes for exoticism, it’s said to be inspired by a ‘day in the life of’ a bee – although this idea was promptly rejected by Stravinsky, claiming it as a ‘sales pitch’.

The Melbourne Symphony Orchestra then takes a dive into the ocean with Debussy’s shimmering La Mer. With its atmospheric soundscapes and impressionistic moods that ebb and flow throughout the work, this piece has been described as the ‘greatest portrayal of the sea in music’.

Internationally-acclaimed pianist Saleem Ashkar takes on Brahms Piano Concerto No.1 bringing a vibrant mix of youthful energy and sophisticated maturity in this fiercely uncompromising work. Written across four years, it has become one of the world’s best-loved piano concertos.

Running time: 1 hour and 40 minutes, including a 20-minute interval


This production is part of the following series:

Back to What's On