MSO Woodwind


Gounod Petite Symphonie
Hough Was mit den Tränen geschieht
Lotti/Imison Crucifixus
Krommer Harmonie Op.57

Andrew Macleod flute
Ann Blackburn oboe
Michael Pisani oboe
Philip Arkinstall clarinet
Jon Craven clarinet
Brock Imison bassoon
Natasha Thomas bassoon
Abbey Edlin horn
Saul Lewis horn
Ben Hanlon double bass
Leigh Harrold piano

Mairi Nicolson host

Join the MSO for a celebration of chamber music, with some of the finest music for woodwind highlighting the talents of the MSO’s woodwind section. Gounod’s Petite Symphonie illustrates gorgeous French melodies and movement in equal measure, bringing forth the MSO’s blended woodwind section to their richest capacity.

Hough’s Was mit den Tränen geschieht then combines the unusual pairing of piccolo, contrabassoon and piano – a combination described by the composer as possessing ‘great poignancy: the alienation of two instruments unable to meet on the same pitch.’

Lotti’s stunning Crucifixus then follows, a work reimagined by MSO bassoon player, Brock Imison, before Krommer’s Harmonie Op.57, a work consisting of pairs of oboes, clarinets, bassoons and horns that dominated the Viennese courts of the 18th century, fills the room with sonorous and virtuosic sounds.

Be prepared for a concert of both staples and satisfyingly different works from the wind ensemble genre!

Running time: 1 hour and 30 minutes, including a 20 minute interval

Back to What's On