MSO Plays Mozart


Mozart Oboe Quartet
Mozart Horn Quintet
Mozart Clarinet Quintet

Thomas Hutchinson oboe
David Thomas basset clarinet
Saul Lewis horn
Freya Franzen violin
Matthew Tomkins violin
Elizabeth Woolnough viola
Chris Moore viola
Michelle Wood cello
Mairi Nicolson host

Warming you up for the MSO’s incredible lineup in July’s Mozart Festival, this Chamber Series concert features three of the great composer’s works for chamber groups, as selected by the performers.

Mozart’s Oboe Quartet sees MSO Associate Principal Oboist, Thomas Hutchinson join forces with string quartet, whilst the Clarinet Quintet will feature David Thomas on basset clarinet, which is the instrument that Mozart chose to write for, although it is seldom performed as such in contemporary settings. Interestingly, it is also the only clarinet quintet piece that Mozart ever completed, and still one of his best admired and well-known pieces for the instrument.

The program also features the Horn Quintet that Mozart composed for his friend, the Austrian horn player Joseph Leutgeb. The original manuscript features Mozart’s own handwritten jokes at the simple Leutgeb’s expense, with comments such as ‘Take it easy…animal – ouch – oh dear… help!’

We are sure there will be no need for such criticisms in this joyous celebration of some of Mozart’s greatest chamber works.

Running time: 1 hour and 30 minutes, including a 20-minute interval

Due to unforeseen circumstances, previously-advertised violist Lauren Brigden is unable to perform in this concert. She is replaced by Chris Moore.

Back to What's On