MSO and the Australian String Quartet


Stravinsky Dumbarton Oaks
Hindson The Rave and The Nightingale
Schubert String Quartet No.14 Death and the Maiden (orchestral version)

Dale Barltrop violin/director
Australian String Quartet

In the first of three exciting chamber music concerts in 2017, the Australian String Quartet and the MSO delve into some personal favourites from MSO’s Concertmaster and ASQ violinist Dale Barltrop.

We begin with Stravinsky’s Dumbarton Oaks, a private commission to celebrate the thirtieth wedding anniversary of Robert and Mildred Bliss, an American couple living in a 19th century mansion in Washington DC called ‘Dumbarton Oaks’. With his daughter’s terminal tuberculosis weighing heavily on his mind, Stravinsky took inspiration from the gardens of Dumbarton Oaks, and Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos, which the composer loved, to create this work.

Australian composer Matthew Hindson’s The Rave and the Nightingale takes its inspiration from Schubert’s monolithic last string quartet, Quartet No.15 in G Major, composed in 1826. In this work for string quartet and orchestra, Hindson questions what sort of music would Schubert write, if he had been born in the late 20th century – techno-inspired electronica anthems perhaps? Schubert’s own much loved String Quartet No.14 Death and the Maiden, played in a version for string orchestra, concludes the program.

The MSO is pleased to welcome the Australian String Quartet as its 2017 Ensemble in Residence.

Pre-concert Talk
Hosted by MSO’s Education Manager Lucy Rash, the pre-concert talk will take place one hour prior to the start of the performance in the Melbourne Recital Centre Foyer (Thursday 30 March) and Robert Blackwood Hall Foyer (Friday 31 March) respectively.

Running time: 1 hour and 40 minutes, including a 20-minute interval

Back to What's On