An Evening with the MSO - Frankston

Regional Tour 2017

Saturday 14 October 2017 at 8:00pm


Dvořák Serenade for Winds
Kats-Chernin Ornamental Air
Mendelssohn Konzertstück
Beethoven Symphony No.8

Michael Collins clarinet/director
Lloyd Van’t Hoff clarinet

Please note, this concert is now Sold Out. To enjoy an evening with the MSO and Michael Collins, CLICK HERE and join us at Robert Blackwood Hall, Monash University, on Friday 13 October.

The MSO is excited to bring its finest players, and a gorgeous repertoire, to Frankston for a wondrous evening of classical music.

In this special concert, British clarinet virtuoso Michael Collins returns to play with and conduct the MSO in a riveting series of works, including the dynamic Ornamental Air, written for him especially by MSO’s Composer in Residence Elena Kats-Chernin.

Also on the program is Dvořák’s Serenade for Winds and one of Mendelssohn’s Konzertstück, in which Collins will be joined by the 2015 ABC Symphony Australia Young Performer of the Year, Brisbane-born Lloyd Van’t Hoff.

Rounding out the evening of sumptuous classical music is Beethoven’s Symphony No.8, which the composer fondly referred to as his ‘little Symphony in F’.

Pre-concert talk: join composer Lisa Cheney, former participant of the MSO’s Cybec 21st Century Composer program, for a 30-minute discussion on tonight’s work, beginning at 7pm.

The MSO is delighted to welcome Elena Kats-Chernin, one of Australia’s leading composers, as its 2017 Composer in Residence.

An Evening with the MSO is supported by the Victorian Government through Creative Victoria, and the Robert Salzer Foundation.

Running time: 2 hours, including a 20-minute interval

Back to What's On