Sibelius and Shostakovich

Geelong Series


Sibelius Rakastava
Munro Flute Concerto WORLD PREMIERE
Sibelius Impromptu
Shostakovich, arr. Barshai Chamber Symphony, Op.73a

Dale Barltrop violin/director
Prudence Davis flute

MSO Concertmaster Dale Barltrop directs members of the orchestra in two Sibelius works: the intimate Rakastava (The Lover), and the sweeping Impromptu. Sibelius was famed for his trenchant opinions. For example, this put-down: ‘Pay no attention to what the critics say. A statue had never been erected in honour of a critic.’

He was refreshingly honest when it came to his own compositions, saying, ‘Whereas most other modern composers are engaged in manufacturing cocktails of every hue and description, I offer the public pure cold water.’

Shostakovich’s anguished Chamber Symphony, Op.73a, is an arrangement for string orchestra of his String Quartet No.8 by the conductor Rudolf Barshai. The work utilises the composer’s famous ‘DSCH’ motif. Music lesson — this motif is derived from the German transliteration of his name, D. SCHostakowitsch. In German notation, E-flat is called ‘es’ and B-natural is H. Thus, DSCH is D, E-flat, C, B. So now you know.

Also included in this program is the world premiere of a flute concerto by eminent Australian composer, soloist and pedagogue, Ian Munro.

Back to What's On