Elgar, Bach, Puccini and Dvořák

Geelong Series


Elgar Introduction and Allegro
J.S. Bach Violin Concerto No.2
Puccini Crisantemi
Dvořák Serenade for Strings

James Ehnes violin/director

Four of the finest works for strings feature in this concert directed by Canadian violinist James Ehnes, making a welcome return to the MSO for two concerts. Along with the familiar — J.S. Bach’s Violin Concerto No.2, with Ehnes as soloist, and Dvořák’s Serenade for Strings — is Elgar’s autumnal Introduction and Allegro and Puccini’s miniature masterpiece, Crisantemi (Chrysanthemums). Composed in just one night in 1890, this six-minute work was originally for string quartet, but is mostly performed in its stringorchestra version.

Back to What's On