Bach Suites

Geelong Series


Haydn Symphony No.49 ‘La Passione’
J.S. Bach Orchestral Suite No.2
J.S. Bach Orchestral Suite No.3
Haydn Symphony No. 92 ‘Oxford’

Paul Goodwin conductor
Prudence Davis flute

You might not associate it with mirrorballs, but there once was a time when the biggest name in dance music was Johann Sebastian Bach. His celebrated quartet of orchestral suites were inspired by the lively charm of traditional French dances, adapting them into more intricate, embellished and sophisticated works that enhanced the infectious sense of movement.

Suites 2 and 3 feature the famous Badinerie and Air in D major, works that are rich in colour and playfulness, showcasing Bach’s inventive use of ‘perpetual motion’ techniques.

Things don’t shift down a gear for the Haydn symphonies either: ‘La Passione’ earned its moniker from the fierce intensity of its scoring, while the ‘Oxford’ is a summation of all that came before and is considered one of the pinnacles of the composer’s substantial symphonic output.

Back to What's On