Mozart's Symphony No 40

Thursday 17 September 2015 at 8:00pm

Melbourne Recital Centre, Elisabeth Murdoch Hall

Friday 18 September 2015 at 8:00pm

Saturday 19 September 2015 at 6:30pm

Melbourne Recital Centre, Elisabeth Murdoch Hall


Stravinsky Concerto in D for Strings
Mozart Violin Concerto No.5
Stravinsky Octet for Winds
Mozart Symphony No.40

Eoin Andersen violin / director

Across the gulf of two centuries, Mozart and Stravinsky created distinctive works shaped and inspired by the rigor of classical forms. Stravinsky’s Octet for Winds, an early neo-classical masterpiece performed here by the wind section of the MSO, and the composer’s compact Concerto in D – led by MSO Concertmaster Eoin Andersen – are balanced by Mozart’s Violin Concerto, a youthful work of matchless elegance and execution. With its famous melancholy opening theme, Mozart’s Symphony No.40 hints at a deep disquiet beneath its trademark refinement.

Pre-concert talk (17 & 18 September at 7pm)
Andrew Aronowicz will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

Post-concert conversation (19 September at 8.30pm)
Join MSO Director of Artistic Planning Ronald Vermeulen for a post-concert conversation with tonight’s artists.

Back to What's On