Mozart's Symphony No.40

Frankston Arts Centre


Saturday 21 September 2015 at 8:00pm

Frankston Arts Centre

Tickets available direct from the venue

Stravinsky Concerto in D for Strings
Mozart Violin Concerto No.5
Stravinsky Octet for Winds
Mozart Symphony No.40

Eoin Andersen violin / director

Across the gulf of two centuries, Mozart and Stravinsky created distinctive works shaped and inspired by the rigor of classical forms. Stravinsky’s Octet for Winds, an early neo-classical masterpiece performed here by the wind section of the MSO, and the composer’s compact Concerto in D – led by MSO Concertmaster Eoin Andersen – are balanced by Mozart’s Violin Concerto, a youthful work of matchless elegance and execution. With its famous melancholy opening theme, Mozart’s Symphony No.40 hints at a deep disquiet beneath its trademark refinement.

Back to What's On