Geelong Series

Mahler 4

Friday 19 June 2015 at 8:00pm


Prokofiev Sinfonia Concertante
Mahler Symphony No.4

Sir Andrew Davis conductor
Pieter Wispelwey cello
Jacqueline Porter soprano

A milestone in the MSO’s musical evolution, Sir Andrew Davis’ Mahler Cycle series returns for its fourth chapter.

A moment of soulful introspection from one of music’s world-weary travellers, Mahler’s Symphony No.4 recalls an age of innocence with its moments of childlike joy. Tempestuous instrumentation and sly wit abound in Prokofiev’s Sinfonia Concertante, considered a high point of the composer’s last creative years.

Pre-concert talk (19 June at 7pm)
MSO Director of Artistic Planning Ronald Vermeulen will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

Back to What's On