Beethoven's Symphony No. 7

Saint-Saëns' Violin Concerto No.3

Saturday 23 May 2015 at 2:00pm

Monday 25 May 2015 at 6:30pm


Saint-Saëns Violin Concerto No.3
Beethoven Symphony No.7

Matthias Pintscher conductor
Karen Gomyo violin

One of the world’s most sought-after composers, Matthias Pintscher, returns to conduct the Australian premiere of idyll, an MSO co-commission with The Cleveland Orchestra and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, in a program that also includes Beethoven’s majestic Seventh Symphony. Japanese-Canadian violinist Karen Gomyo joins the Orchestra for Saint-Saëns’ eloquent Third Violin Concerto, in her first appearance with the MSO.

Pre-Concert Talks
Friday 22 May
7pm, Stalls Foyer, Hamer Hall
Saturday 23 May
1pm, Stalls Foyer, Hamer Hall
Andrew Aronowicz will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

Post-Concert Conversation
Monday 25 May
8.30pm, Stalls Foyer, Hamer Hall
Join MSO Director of Artistic Planning Ronald Vermeulen for a post-concert conversation with conductor and composer Matthias Pintscher.

Back to What's On