Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No:1

Friday 7 August 2015 at 8:00pm

Saturday 8 August 2015 at 2:00pm

Monday 10 August 2015 at 6:30pm


Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio espagnol
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No.1
Scriabin Symphony No.3 The Divine Poem

Vasily Petrenko – conductor
Simon Trpčeski – piano

The very epitome of Romantic music, Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No.1 is one of the most beloved concertos in the history of the modern keyboard. Appearing alongside the masterful orchestration and fiery drama of Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio espagnol, Scriabin’s Third Symphony weaves a rich, textured canvas of romance and tragedy, as if from a film yet to be written.

Pre-concert talks (7 August at 7pm, 8 August at 1pm)
Warren Lenthall will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

Post-concert conversation (10 August at 8.30pm)
Join MSO Director of Artistic Planning Ronald Vermeulen for a post-concert conversation with tonight’s artists.

Back to What's On