Bronfman 3 (c) Dario Acosta.jpg

Yefim Bronfman Plays Brahms

Brahms Piano Concerto No.2
Elgar Symphony No.1

Sir Andrew Davis conductor
Yefim Bronfman piano

Elgar is a composer close to Sir Andrew’s heart, and the Symphony No. 1 is among the greatest of all symphonies, a grand, beautiful, gloriously involving showpiece that embodies, in the composer’s words, ‘a massive hope for the future.’ The program begins with Grammy Award-winning piano master Yefim Bronfman in Brahms’ towering concerto, in which orchestra and soloist unite to create one of the grand statements of the Romantic spirit.

Pre-concert talk at 1pm
MSO’s Orchestra Librarian Alastair McKean will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

2 hours with 20 minute interval.