Sir Andrew conducts James Ehnes in Berlioz and Beethoven

Friday 7 November 2014 at 8:00pm

Saturday 8 November 2014 at 2:00pm

Monday 10 November 2014 at 6:30pm


Berlioz Harold in Italy
Berlioz Reverie and Caprice for violin and orchestra
Beethoven Symphony No.7

Sir Andrew Davis conductor
James Ehnes viola and violin

The heart of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 is the sublime Allegretto, a walking tune subject to transformations that must have seemed tremendously novel to the work’s first audience in 1813, but now seem dream-like in their perfection. Sir Andrew’s survey of Berlioz’s major works continues in the company of James Ehnes. As Gramophone magazine said of this magnificent musician: ‘You get the feeling every time he puts bow to string that something special will, quite naturally, just happen.’

Pre-concert talk (7 November at 7pm and 8 November at 1pm)
Graham Abbott will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

2 hours with 20 minute interval.

Back to What's On